March 1, continued.

This is an add-on to today’s blog. It’s March 1st, I made it through February! It’s been cold at night and my water froze again last night. I hope it will warm up again, at least a LITTLE and not to fast! I made 15 miles today even against the wind.
I should be in Arizona by Sunday. I was telling you about the dirt road I was on this morning. I finally came to the paved frontage road; the barbed wire fence had to be crossed. It took me a half hour to un-pack the cart, get everything over the fence and then repack. Then, a quarter of a mile further, there was a gate with just a chain on it! I could have walked right through!!!!
Later, I crossed the continental divide. That’s the dividing line for all rainfall, where it either goes to the Atlantic ocean or the Pacific ocean. A big milestone!! Maybe it will be more downhill from here?
Back in El Paso, I got to spend some time with John Sproul, a volunteer from Audubon. He is working on restoring some wetlands that have been affected heavily from the drought and all the agricultural use of water in the El Paso area, namely a 15 mile concrete canal which prevents the Rio Grande water from seeping into the ground along the course of the river. It’s amazing what Audubon volunteers and professional staff do every day to try to stem the tide of habitat destruction so that our wildlife stand a fighting chance.
I hope that any of you following my walk will consider donating something in my name to Audubon, even $5. It would mean a lot to me and go a long way to help our feathered and furry friends. Thanks

Leave a Reply

