Feb. 17

Hello. I’ve made it to Van Horn, Texas, about a hundred miles East of El Paso. I actually stayed in a motel last night. It was cold and raining. What a relief! But I had to walk 24 miles yesterday to get here. That’s more than any other day so far! I was pretty tired to say the least.

Here is where my trip takes on the new type of challenge. After 1500 miles I now begin walking the interstates, or more exactly, the frontage roads along the interstate, if there are any. The real challenge or fear now is that state troopers will stop me on the sections of interstate where there are no frontage roads.  I keep playing over in my head what I’ll say to them, but it’s basically “What else can I do?” There are no secondary roads as an alternative. I’m worried about it, but between my mission and all, I’m hoping they’ll be tolerant. I guess I’ll find out!

Off now to Sierra Blanca. 35 miles with no services. But after 74 miles coming to Van Horn, it will seem short. Thanks so much to Lucy, Isaac for road advice and Couch surfing information, and Margaret for weather info.

Talk to you again soon. Peace Out.

 

2 thoughts on “Feb. 17

  1. Van Horn, what a middle-of-nowhere place, and that’s just how it seemed to me when I drove through by car! Good luck with the southwest!

Leave a Reply

